BACK!

Hello Blogosphere!!

After a much too long hiatus I am back in action. A lot has happened since I last updated. My biggest news is that I got engaged – YATTA! So lately, much of my free time has been absorbed by planning this wedding – 98 days to go! Yikes.

Lately, however, I have been once again channeling my stress into cooking. This combined with some fun new kitchen toys (the BF got me a sous vide for Christmas!) and the re-start of our CSA tomorrow, should hopefully lend itself to more posts!

So stay tuned, gastronauts!

If you haven’t already, check out my cooking Instagram. I have been keeping up with posting over there (because it’s easy and I’ve been lazy) @sdgastronaut .

In the interim, here’s what I’ve been cooking up!

stuffed mushrooms

Spicy pesto and breadcrumb stuffed mushrooms topped with cheese and microgreens.

chicken skewers

Chicken skewers – marinated overnight in buttermilk, baked for 5 mins at 375 and then pan seared in black chili powder and smoked paprika.

sous vide

SOUS VIDE STEAK – this was my first time ever doing the sous vide! I will be posting a separate post about this so stay tuned!

cream of mushroom

Homemade cream of chicken soup – with garlic and celery tops, all in a bread bowl. This was SO good, I ate 2 bowls.

polenta

 

Polenta medallions served with homemade sauce and topped with artichoke hearts, zucchini and shaved parmesean.

bacon brussels

Maple bacon Brussels sprouts – ZERO EXPLANATION NEEDED!

gnocchi

Pesto and truffle oil gnocchi served with heirloom tomatoes and radicchio!

squash blossoms

And finally, cream cheese and chive stuffed fried squash blossoms, OH YEAH.

Leave a comment